Be true to yourself

Last year was quite an eye-opener for me. And the most important thing I learned?
Don’t be true to yourself.
Yes, you read that correctly. Do not, under any circumstances, be true to yourself!
You see, when you decide to be you, to be authentic, you are immediately crucified.
You are labelled as being fake, trying to be trendy, lying to yourself, being weird, trying too hard, not trying hard enough. The list is never ending!
So where does that leave you? Where does that leave me?!

Simple.
I stopped caring.
Why should I? Whatever anyone else thinks of me does not make me a better or worse person. Is it my problem that they deem themselves fit to air their opinion of me? No!

I actually feel a bit sorry for them. That they involve themselves so much in other people’s lives that they are hardly living their own.

But they also make me mad. I know it shouldn’t, but I’m a very emotional creature. Therefore I strongly feel the pain of my friends and family. So when someone breaks them down, humiliates them, or speak ill of them, it truly upsets me.

The Stephanie Myers book “The Host” made me think. Just imagine we could truly live in an enlightened world where there is no place for hatred.

In the spirit of Martin Luther King Jnr Day, I would like to quote him on these wise words:
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only live can do that.”

So what am I getting at? Well, nothing in particular. Maybe a request?
Before speaking in anger to the till lady, ask her how her day has been.
Before getting impatient in traffic, remember that everyone else is also stuck there.
Before posting a nasty remark, read it and think how you would feel on the receiving end of such a remark.

Kindness costs nothing, so pay it forward ❤

KvH

Leave a Reply

